Passing the time

by Sean Samoheyl

image imageSometimes I’ll see a hand plane or other tool with a nice hand carved flourish on it and I think,” who has the time for this?” But then I think about those times you’re just sitting around with some tools and nothing to do. Between projects, or say at a fair with no customers really and vendors are just chatting with one another. Yesterday, I basically carved on everything I could. Kidding, but I remembered the horse I carved on a friend’s chair and thought hey ag folks love horses and stuff. Maybe I’ll carve say a goat or a horse on this mallet. A goat or ram might have been more fitting since they butt their hard heads but then I figured horses are a big draw. Then I carved (or attempted) a dogwood blossom on the handle of the vise screw just for amusement. 

